GM Hockey
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
GM Hockey

You are not connected. Please login or register

Kuba was surprised by trade

+5
PKC
Snuh
wprager
Cap'n Clutch
jamvan
9 posters

Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 2]

1Kuba was surprised by trade Empty Kuba was surprised by trade Sat Sep 06, 2008 9:01 am

jamvan

jamvan
Veteran
Veteran

By Bruce Garrioch - Ottawa Sun

Filip Kuba's trip from his home in the Czech Republic to Tampa next week will be nothing more than a detour.
Dealt to the Senators last Friday with Alexandre Picard and a No. 1 pick in the 2009 NHL draft by the Lightning for defenceman Andrej Meszaros, the veteran blueliner admits he was a little taken aback by the trade.
"Initially it was a little bit of a shock because of the timing," Kuba, speaking to an Ottawa reporter for the first time since the trade, told Sun Media last night. "I was looking forward to going to training camp in Tampa and I was getting ready to go. Then, my agent (Rich Evans) called me to let me know that I was going to Ottawa.
'THAT'S HOCKEY'
"It happened. That's hockey. Now, I have to get ready to start playing in Ottawa. I'm excited about it and I'm looking forward to it."

The 32-year-old Kuba, in the final year of a contract that will pay him $3 million US this season, thought with all the moves the new Tampa ownership group had made this off-season, his job would be safe there.
"There were a lot of changes and it's really almost a brand new team there," said Kuba, who will arrive in Ottawa next Sunday. "I was excited to go there with the new coach, new players and new ownership group, but now I have to get ready to go to Ottawa. I'm hoping I can do well with Ottawa."
Speaking to the Team 1200 on Thursday, former Lightning coach John Tortorella said he felt Kuba was going to get the chance to excel offensively with the Senators and that his best years in the NHL could be ahead of him.